Work with me, please.

We had a great weekend.  No basketball scheduled for Jay + Playgroup canceled + No birthday parties =  Free weekend!  Of course, more sleep would have been nice.  Jay flipped up our light switch at 6:37 am on Saturday.  Even though he clearly was not rested himself, he insisted that Hubby and I get up.  He wanted someone to play with him and he wanted breakfast.  Mae slept a while longer, but once one of them is up, the day has officially started and there is no reverse button.

So, we got ourselves together and went into the city for lunch at Ollie’s Trolleys and a visit to the National Aquarium.  The kids enjoyed the aquarium and both behaved well enough to earn an item from the aquarium shop.  Even though we’re only 12 miles deep into the suburbs, Mae and Jay become embarrassingly excited about being in Washington, DC.  Every glimpse of the Monument draws an excited mention.  And, somehow a McDonald’s tucked into the ground level of an office building seems to have a different impact than a drive-through with landscaping or a playplace.  Mae even said on our last trip in, only a month or so ago, “Look at that cool street cleaner” as a man in uniform picked up litter.  I put my chin down to my neck and prayed he didn’t hear her.

While grocery shopping on Saturday, I picked up these clever cereal-and-milk cups, foldable spoon included, thinking we had a solution that would allow the kids to fix their own breakfast on the weekends and give Hubby and me some extra time.  The kids loved the cups!  Mae read the instructions and then demonstrated for Jay how he would unscrew the cereal container to get to the milk and then lift the lid off the cereal bowl to pour in the milk.  She showed him how to unfold the spoon and how to put the pieces back together when he’s done.  She was her best and most patient big sister self, and he listened intently.

Well, I took more confidence from the darned cups than I should have.  We let both of the boogers stay up way past their weekend bedtime.  I was too focused on baking German chocolate cupcakes for my baby sister’s 27th birthday, and I didn’t want to break my flow to put them to bed or help Hubby put them to bed. (Comedians and pop culture commentators can say what they like about Martha Stewart; she knows how to put together a darn good cupcake recipe and I ain’t mad at her.  I admire her creativity and her ability to make a living out of it.)

Jay flipped our light switch at 7:27 this morning.  He didn’t seem to remember the cereal cup at all or that he was supposed to bypass our room and take himself downstairs.  On most weekend mornings, he and Mae are up within minutes of each other because they tend to wake each other.  And some mornings, if Mae doesn’t get up with him, Jay will lie quietly with us or go downstairs to watch TV.  This morning, he insisted that we get up with him.  As for Mae, she slept until almost 10 this morning, by which time I’d already finished at the gym and grocery store.

Thanks to my baby sister, Hubby and I were able to go out and celebrate Valentine’s Day this afternoon.  As I reminded the kids that Dad and I had a date, Mae told me, with disgust or disbelief or both in her voice, that moms and dads do not go on dates, teenagers go on dates.  Little does she know that the point of the mom-dad date is to act like teenagers.

Although Mae and Jay told their aunt that she would not be allowed to watch TV or use the computer, it seems that they had a peaceful co-existence for the few hours Hubby and I were out.

I’m blessed to have a great family and it was an appropriately sweet weekend, despite the lack of sleep.

Comments on: "Sleepless Indefinitely" (1)

  1. Rebecca said:

    This is such a great post full of resources–love the cups–and the teenage reference! I so feel you on the waking up just for company!

Leave a Reply

