Work with me, please.

This evening, I was saying good night to Jay, telling him that he’s a great son and I’m glad he’s a part of our family.  I ended with, “I love you.”  His response?  “This is ‘T’ week.”

His preschool class is studying the letter T this week.  Of course, he knew that I knew that already because on the way home today we talked about words that begin with T.  From the moment I buckled him in until we pulled into the driveway, I gave him clues about T words and he had to guess the word.  After he guessed the correct word, he’d say, “Let’s talk about some more T words.”  It was actually getting a little tiresome (heehee), but I went along because I know it’s good practice for him.  Usually, we talk about his day for a few minutes and then he asks if the radio is on Fresh FM.  If it’s not, I change the station and we listen quietly to music for the rest of the 15-20 minute ride.  He must really love the letter T.

I think it’s odd and funny that a three-and-a-half-year-old doesn’t like to say “I love you” and never has.  He was better than 3 years old before I heard him utter (more like mutter) the words.  Mae says it all the time to me and Hubby, randomly throws it into any conversation or just tells us out of the blue.  This past Saturday, she and Jay were eating lunch at the kitchen table while I was at the sink.  She turned to me and said, “Mommy, I love you.”  Jay pointed to the ceiling fan and said, “I love that.”  He pointed to Mae and said, “I love that.” And, then he pointed to me and said, “I love that.”  I laughed inside because that was actually progress over acting as if he didn’t hear someone say the “L” word.

Oh well, it’s a good thing I don’t have thin skin.  Bless his future girlfriends/wife.

Comments on: "How’s That for Changing the Subject?" (2)

  1. I know how you feel. The only time my son says he love me is when I ask. But he LOVES miss Sally from Cars. Glad I come second to a car.

    Checking in from MBC
    http://andweareoffto.blogspot.com/
    Amie

  2. I like the way how you see yourself and your son. It was great to read your post, thank you.

Leave a Reply

