Work with me, please.

And, playing doesn’t mean you’re going to win.

Mae didn’t get selected in the lottery for the county’s full-day gifted program near us.  She is number 38 on the waiting list.  We had pretty much decided to keep her in private school anyway.

I do, however, think it’s unfortunate that there are not enough full-day spaces for county students who meet the gifted criteria.  I had no idea before she was tested that gifted education is such a political and contested issue.  I’m a little relieved that we will be spared the messy side of it.

How ironic that we moved to this neighborhood for the public schools.  From now on, when I think about the taxes we pay, I’m going to focus on benefits like reliable first responders, clean streets, and speedy snow removal.  As for the fraction that goes to the school system, I wish the kids and their families a solid education and positive experience.

Comments on: "You Can’t Win Unless You Play" (2)

  1. Greetings,
    I just stumbled upon your blog. I also have an identified gifted daughter. She attends a private montessori school, not sure if you’ve looked into montessori schools but basically they are truly able to work at their own pace and are age clustered into classes such as 6-9 year olds. Good luck w/next year!

    • Thanks for stopping by. My daughter is at a great private school in md. They have done a fine job so far at individualizing her curriculum so far. I was just hoping for a full-day accelerated program and break in tuition. 🙂 I’m sure she’ll be fine if she stays at her current school.

Leave a Reply

