Work with me, please.

image

Four days after the kids’ vacation with Nonny, and we are trying to get settled back into a routine.  The kids are resisting, complaining that they don’t have enough play time in the evenings, which I don’t understand because they play all day at camp.  During the school year, baths began at 7:45 pm, with reading and bed immediately after.  This week, the earliest they have gone upstairs is 8:40 pm.  I do feel kind of bad ending their play time while there is still sunlight outside.  However, they wake up more easily and they tend to be more cooperative when they get more rest (although more rest is no guarantee for more cooperation).

Mae seems to be doing ok at camp.  This is her first time at a camp outside of their school since she started there at age three.  She is not raving about camp, but she hasn’t complained yet either.  I exchanged emails with the camp director last Friday about some of Mae’s biggest challenges — transitioning to new or highly stimulating environments, heavy crying if play doesn’t go her way, and speaking or acting without thinking first, and tips on what seems to help her manage better.  The head counselor for Mae’s group is an early childhood education major and has a younger brother with ADD, a disorder that shares several characteristics with Asperger’s.  So, I have some confidence that he and the camp director know what to expect and how to manage.

While the kids were in SC, I managed to write six social stories for Mae, including ones on speaking with respect and unexpected changes, and mailed them to her at Nonny’s.  I wanted to introduce the stories before camp began.  She said the storybook I made was “great,” and, unfortunately, we haven’t had a chance to sit and talk about it or go over the stories in detail.  I have not been the most attentive parent this week as I’m trying to get the house ready for company and for Jay’s birthday party this weekend.

Jay is still being a little snarky.  On Monday evening, he told me, for no apparent reason, that I can’t come to his birthday party.  Then, he expanded the ban to all moms and dads, which made me feel a little better.  My first thought was, “Mmm, cake all to myself.”  When I’ve picked him up from camp this week, he has been sooo disinterested in seeing me whereas I used to get a run-up-and-hug and huge grin, kind of the way he got all excited last night when I told him that Nonny wanted to speak to him on the phone.  All that aside, we had a major breakthrough last night at bedtime.  I told him, “I love you” and started to walk away from his bed.   He said, with his monkey pillow half covering his face, “I love you too.”  Because I’m accustomed to not receiving a response to “I love you,” I had to do a double-take.  I almost asked him to repeat it in case I didn’t hear him correctly.  Then, I decided to just go with what I think I heard.   I smiled and said, “Thank you.”

Then, I got out of his room quickly before he could change his mind or tell me that I still can’t come to his party.

 

Comments on: "Getting Back into the Swing of Things" (4)

  1. Getting readjusted is always challenging, but ti sounds like your family is doing well. It’s great that your daughter is in a program with instructors who understand her needs, it sounds like that is going to be good for her this summer!

  2. Jay loves Japan. Jay loves Mommy.

    • J(ay) Dilla rhymes with godzilla, which makes me think that Jayzilla would be a good nickname for Jay when he’s behaving badly. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

