Work with me, please.

image

Mae and Jay put up with me so well this weekend, I’m going to surprise them tomorrow with a trip to a new bounce house in our neighborhood.  It was a Supper Club weekend, which means they received a minimal amount of attention from me.

On Friday night, I put dinner on the table and then headed out to the dry cleaners and grocery store.  Mae and Jay stayed up later than they should have even for a Friday night while Hubby packed for a race trip and I unpacked for Supper Club.  (I keep dinnerware, serveware, glasses, and utensils in bins in the garage because there is a tendency for such things to disappear in the house.  In the cabinets, we have a mix of three sets of dishes, two sets of flatware, and an assortment of glasses and cups of various shapes, sizes, colors, and restaurant affiliations.)

On Saturday, Hubby left for his race while the kids and I were still sleeping.  Mae and Jay were both cooperative as we got dressed to head out for the library, post office, and food warehouse.  Nobody whined when I said that we were only dropping off at the library, and that we’d go inside next trip.  Again, no whining when I said that they couldn’t take the books to the drop-off slot because we were in a hurry.  They both wanted jobs to do all day long — giving the box to the post office clerk, handing the credit card to the cashier, carrying bags to the car, unloading the groceries at home.  I live for days like this!  When they had to stop playing so that we could go to my sister’s place to pick up my food processor and back to the store for more limes and tomatoes, no problem.

Mae and Jay even cleaned their playroom a little while I worked on supper (scallop and avocado salad, fish tacos with fresh salsa, fresh corn on the cob, and ice cream sandwiches).  Usually, Hubby is in town during Supper Club gatherings and the three of them go off and do something fun.  Yesterday, while my friends and I ate and gabbed for several hours, they kept themselves occupied with toys and TV.  I took breaks to give them dinner and put Jay to bed with a short book.  For the most part, though, they left us girls to our play date, (which does not, for the record, involve sitting around talking about men).

Comments on: "Supper Club = Mommy’s Play Date" (1)

  1. Mama Neema said:

    I am so glad that you were able to have this time with the gals…!!

Leave a Reply

