Work with me, please.

20120812-183625.jpg

I have a daughter that will eat oranges and won’t drink orange juice, and a son that will drink orange juice and won’t eat oranges — just one way that they purposely complicate things that have no reason to be complicated.

So, I was very much interested in seeing how they would react to orange cranberry muffins. Score! Both kids ate the muffins. Yay!

In addition to the muffins, I made a sour cream citrus pound cake for my mother-in-law’s birthday. I actually split the batter to make two cakes and froze one for a cook-out in a couple of weeks. After that, I’m taking a break from sweets for a while. Jay told me this weekend that my stomach looks “fatty” and asked why. Bad enough he said it. Why does he need to know how it came to be this way? If I were a cruel person, I would have said, “It’s all you and your sister’s fault!” One day, I may tell them that.

We’re expecting a fancy blender to arrive in the mail on Tuesday, at which point Hubby is going to try to overhaul our diet with green smoothies and juices. It would be awesome if the four of us could have juice for dinner every night. Besides the health benefits, meal planning and after dinner clean-up would become easier and faster (right?). That’s ambitious; so, I’ll set my first goal as having juice for dinner myself at least 3 times a week.

We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

