Work with me, please.

Blah.  Fall is my least favorite time of year.  It takes away the hot weather and long days that I love so much.  I’m convinced that I’m happier and friendlier during warm months.    Hubby and the kids probably don’t notice any difference, but I think I’m a tad bit more snappy during this season.   I usually adjust by the end of November, which begins the Season of Good Eats, a reason to be cheery again.  Here’s to a teeny-tiny wish for another mild winter in the DC metro area.

Mae continues to work at friendships at her new school.   She has three classmates that she calls friends now, and the infamous not-your-friend-on-Friday Gigi is not one of them.  In fact, according to Mae, Gigi now hates her.  Something about her crying too much.  One minute Mae calls her bossy and mean, and the next she’s bothered that Gigi is mean to her.  I don’t know at what point, if any, Mae will say “forget it” and move on.  Ironically, she is a strong hanger-on when it comes to kids who are uninterested or less interested than she is in being her friend.  I can say a million times “play with others” and it’s like talking to a wall.  Of course, I only know one side of the story.  As most of Mae’s issues with Gigi originate in aftercare, I have a reminder set in my phone for tomorrow to call the aftercare director and ask what she is observing in how Mae and Gigi interact.

Yesterday, she had an opportunity to play with some old classmates, including her favorite, K, at a local festival.  She was sooo glad to see them and thoroughly enjoyed hanging out with them.    When she speaks of her former classmates now, she calls them her “true friends” and seems to have forgotten or at least forgiven the times she felt slighted, disliked or left out.  You would think it was all peaches and cream to hear her talk now.  In a way, that’s good.  When she asks if she can go back, I gently remind her without dwelling (I hope) that there were hard days at her old school and no matter where she goes, there will be people who will accept and like her for who she is, and some who will not.  She tells me that it wasn’t that bad.  Maybe it’s me, maybe my perception is off.

Sometimes, my mind gets ahead of me and I imagine a future where she’s that girl who falls hard for the guy who’s not into her, and people who truly love her will try to tell her so, and she’ll say we’re wrong, and she’ll follow the bad guy off a cliff or let him ruin her life with drugs, unwanted children, crime, HIV, and stuff like that.  There’ll be a Lifetime movie about it.

See, this is what fall does to me.

Leave a Reply

