Work with me, please.

Broken

20121215-195304.jpg I’m generally an optimistic person. I have a great deal of faith in people and the Universe. I keep a copy of Desiderata posted near my desk and I’ve had periods when I’ve read it daily or several times daily. There is a line that I particularly like, and I go to it when I’m trying to make sense of things that don’t make sense — “And whether or not it is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.” I don’t need to understand why, I just need to believe that and that things will right themselves, things will balance out in the end, karma will take hold, it’ll all make sense sooner or later.

Then this. Newtown happened.

I’m left to believe that there are exceptions. There is a glitch (Thanks, Wreck-it Ralph).

I get accidents and natural disasters. Horrific but bound to happen. I get fights and wars. I don’t like them, but I understand snap decisions, poor judgment, ego trips, primal behavior, innocent bystanders, unintended consequences. Tragic byproducts of life.

What I don’t get is when an individual makes a series of decisions that lead him to go looking for harmless, innocent babies to murder.

Mental illness won’t do as an explanation for this, not for me. But, let’s go with that for a minute. Is there any amount of therapy or medication, any type of intervention, that could have prevented this? Is there any amount of parental love and support or prayer? Right now, I’m doubtful.

I’m inclined to believe that there are broken people among us. Irrecoverably broken ones that slipped into the Universe. Ones that are not supposed to be here. I’m sorry. On some level, I think “He was someone’s son, brother, friend. He must have at some time brought joy and happiness to some one.” I don’t care. That could not possibly outweigh the sadness and horror he has left behind.

I wish peace for the survivors, including those in the shooters family. May they remember, “With all its sham, drudgery, and broken dreams, it is still a beautiful world.”

Leave a Reply

